Tropic of Capricorn columnar joints landmark unveiled


Outgoing President, Lt Gen Dr Seretse Khama Ian Khama on Tuesday unveiled the columnar joints landmark erected at the Tropic of Capricorn.

The landmark, which some have observed bears a passing resemblance to England’s prehistoric monument, the Stonehenge, is made up of stone pillars to represents each of the thirteen countries the Tropic of Capricorn passes through.

  1. Argentina
  2. Australia
  3. Botswana
  4. Brazil
  5. Chile
  6. Fiji
  7. Namibia
  8. New Caldonia
  9. Madagascar
  10. Mozambique
  11. Paraguay
  12. Tonga
  13. South Africa

The Tropic of Capricorn also crosses through Three Oceans: The Atlantic, Indian and Pacific Ocean

Reference and Image: BWgovernment Facebook page

12 months ago