Botswana among newly elected WHO Executive Board members

The 73rd World Health Assembly has elected Botswana and nine other countries elected by as the new members of the World Health Organisation Executive Board. The other countries are Colombia, Ghana, Guinea Bissau, India, Madagascar, Oman, Republic of Korea, the Russian Federation and the United Kingdom.

The Executive Board is composed of 34 individuals technically qualified in the field of health, each one designated by a Member State elected to do so by the World Health Assembly. Member States are elected for three-year terms.

The Honourable Minister of Health and Wellness, Dr Lemogang Kwape will serve as the substantive member of the Executive Board, while the Acting Permanent Secretary, Baile Moagi will serve as the alternative member.

The Board meets at least twice a year; the main meeting is normally in January, with a second shorter meeting in May immediately after the Health Assembly. The main functions of the Executive Board are to give effect to the decisions and policies of the Health Assembly, to advise it and generally facilitate its work.

We at YourBotswana congratulate Dr Kwape on his new role. We believe his appointment demonstrates the confidence and trust that the World Health Assembly country members have in the Republic of Botswana.

Source:, WHO via Twitter

7 months ago

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.